Awards Season Red Carpet Round-up (so far)

Usually I am extremely quick to post my thoughts on red carpet fashions during awards season. But, to be honest, I’ve been pretty bored so far. There have only been a few standouts, which I will highlight, but everyone else has really been missing the mark.

I have never been the biggest fan of red carpet fashion. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a magical thing and I would be the happiest of campers if someone invited to wear Marchesa and prance down the carpet, but I am rarely moved by anything I see. Sure, there are memorable red carpet moments, but these are few and far between, in my opinion.

So here we go with some of the good (and the not so good…)

LUPITA NYONG’O. 

Talk about making a splash. This girl has yet to do wrong on any red carpet, blue carpet, whatever. Her flawless skin, svelte frame and glamorous lack of hair sure doesn’t hurt the situation, but bravo to whoever her stylist is. She has been KILLING it.

rs_634x1024-140112152139-634.lupita-nyongo-golden-globes-011214

In Ralph Lauren at the Golden Globes

rs_634x1024-140118164259-634-Lupita-Nyongo_-sag.ls.11814_copy

In Gucci at the SAG Awards

Julia Louis-Dreyfus

She’s getting better looking with age. Thus further proving my theory that Benjamin Button syndrome is true.

Monique Lhullier

Monique Lhuillier at the SAG Awards

Emilia Clarke

Khaleesi can do no wrong in my eyes. Loved her structural dress at the Golden Globes and her sweet, flapper-inspired gown and hair at the SAGs.

emilia-clarke-golden-globes-2014-lg

In Proenza Schouler at the Golden Globes

rs_634x1024-140118162502-634-emila-clarke-sag.ls.11814_copy

In custom Calvin Klein at the SAGs

Camila Alves

Ugh. I just. I can’t even. (Honorable mention to Matthew McConaughey looking sharp in a green velvet suit as well).

rs_634x1024-140112165652-634.matthew-mcconaughey-camila-golden-globes-011214

The couple, both in Dolce & Gabbana at the Golden Globes

rs_634x1024-140118170857-634-camila-alves-sag.ls.11814_copy_2

In Vintage Donna Karan Atelier

Other highlights from the Golden Globes:

Margot Robbie

This dress fit her like a glove. Love all the emerald accents.

In Gucci

In Gucci

Leonardo DiCaprio

Le sigh.

rs_634x1024-140112170007-634.Leonardo-DiCaprio-Golden-Globes.jl.011214_copy

Olivia Wilde

She looks like a sexy, pregnant lizard. And I mean that in the best way possible.

rs_634x1024-140112163141-634.Olivia-Wilde-Golden-Globes.jl.011214

In Gucci

Other highlights from the SAG Awards

Sarita Choudhury

I can only hope I’m half as hawt as she is in her mature age. Get it, girl.

In Nanette Lepore

In Nanette Lepore

James Marsden 

There is a reason he was cast as Prince Charming.

In Valentino

In Valentino

And now the bad. Poor choices ’14…

Golden Globes

Paula Patton

She is so beautiful and has so much potential. Yet consistently strikes out on the red carpet. Someone help her.

In Stephane Rolland Couture

In Stephane Rolland Couture

Julia Roberts

I’m still trying to figure out why the collared shirt was necessary.

In Dolce & Gabbana

In Dolce & Gabbana

SAG Awards

Mariah Carey

Just stop, Mariah. And please remove your black sheer pantyhose.

20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Arrivals

In Saint Laurent

Cate Blanchett

It looks like a vagina. I’m sorry. Cate I love you so much, but I have to speak my mind.

In Givenchy

In Givenchy

Stuart Brazell

This is just so bad. I’m not even 100% sure who this is?

20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Arrivals

One thought on “Awards Season Red Carpet Round-up (so far)

  1. Pingback: The Fashion of the 2014 SAG Awards: The Good, Eh, and Ugly | A Thousand Lives

Leave a Reply

