Pilsen.

IMG_6043IMG_6028

Recently, I ventured to Pilsen with two of my girlfriends to do some vintage shopping and explore a new neighborhood. I’ve made it a personal goal since moving back from LA to get out and see more of what Chicago has to offer. It makes me happy to galavant around this city that I love so so much.

IMG_6034

We stopped in two vintage shops, the first being Knee Deep. Carlos, the owner, was super friendly and helpful and I felt overwhelmed, in the best way possible, about how many treasures I found in his store. Not to mention the place had a fantastic track list playing in the background and was supremely organized. For the OCD tendencies in me, this was heaven on Earth. There’s nothing worse than a vintage store arranged like a Forever 21. Just too. Much. Happening.

IMG_6033

I ended up snagging a gorgeous emerald green wool knee-length skirt; a loud, red, floral-print shirt dress with shoulder pads (though I’m debating whether or not to take them out…I kind of like the 80s silhouette the dress gives me); and a vertically-striped, brightly-colored silk top.

IMG_6044

The next shop, Pilsen Vintage, had more of an antiques focus, though my friend Del did score an adorable summer dress that will be perfect for Lollapalooza.

IMG_6040IMG_6036

And there were Caboodles. And creepy vintage mannequins.

IMG_6042    IMG_6038

IMG_6041

We finished the evening with Nueva Leon, a delicious Mexican restaurant where they just bring you salsa on salsa on salsa and chicken soup for free.99. Though I didn’t need all this extra food because I ended up gorging myself on queso and carne asada tacos. #yumcity.

It was a wonderful excursion into a wonderfully authentic neighborhood of Chicago. I would like to go back when I have a little more time and visit the mural wall and the museums that Pilsen has to offer.

Now I’m left to wonder what neighborhood I should visit next….

Leave a Reply

