Baby Shower DIY

Last Sunday I had the pleasure of co-hosting a baby shower for my dear friend, Tori. She is about to have her first little nugget and I couldn’t be more excited for her!

“Oh, the places you’ll go!” was the theme and everything was based on world travel! Part of my hosting duties was to create a take-home favor for everyone in attendance. After combining ideas I saw on Pinterest, I came up with the idea of making cute little bags of seeds for guests to take home and plant! I’m super happy with the way they turned out!

Here’s a brief step by step guide to how I made them, in case you need to make something like this on your own!:

1. I found some very on-theme printed burlap and cut them in 3″ x 6″ strips, large enough to fold in half and fit the seed packets inside. Then, I sewed the sides up (inside out) using a zig-zag stitch.

sewing machine

inside out

2. Next, I unfolded all the bags, put the seeds inside, and sewed up the top using a large needle and some cording.

seeds 2

cording

inside bag

tied

3. For the final touch, I researched where each seed originated from and hand printed a tag to attach to the bags. I wanted each bag to look like a treasure from a foreign country.

finished

4. Tori’s mom found these awesome vintage trunks to decorate the shower. It was the perfect place to display the favors!

treasure chest

It was such a fun day celebrating the arrival of Baby Owen! I wish Tori and her hubby, Roger, all the best 🙂

2 thoughts on “Baby Shower DIY

  1. This is the best! Great work! When I have the need for a baby shower… in like a bajillion years, travel/oh the places you go will totally be the theme. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

